top of page
My Picks:
Post List

Changing My Life at 35


For most of my life, food has been a central focus. Events I attended - baby showers, weddings, funerals, reunions, holiday dinners, you name it - revolved around food in some way. So, you can imagine my concern and wonder at how I would handle my 35th birthday as a new Weight Watchers member.

I decided on my birthday plans before I joined Weight Watchers, so of course it was a party at my favorite local Mexican restaurant, The Cantina. I was excited about turning 35, but also apprehensive that I was going to completely blow my diet. Then, I remembered: Weight Watchers is not a diet. Diets don't always work in social situations, but Weight Watchers does.

17 people attended my party and it was seriously the most fun I have had in a long time. However, a big reason I had so much fun is because I didn't focus on the food at all. I focused on the people and the event itself. I also prepared myself ahead of time. I checked out the menu online and decided what would best suit my nutritional needs. I calculated the points and made note of a couple of options in case I wanted something different than my original entree choice.

The food was amazing and I didn't blow my points on one meal. But the best part about the evening was visiting with the people who showed up to celebrate my turning 35. It was, by far, the best start to a new year I have ever had.

Here's to 35!

bottom of page