top of page
My Picks:
Post List

Weight Gain Doesn't Have to Be a Total Loss


If I think about how much more weight I need to lose to be healthy, I get completely overwhelmed. My ideal body weight is between 164 and 180 pounds per my doctor, frame size and height. I currently weigh 419.2, so that means I have 238.6 lbs. still to go.

I could focus on this number, but that would only lead to frustration, feeling discouraged and possibly giving up. In the past, giving up was easy and usually my go-to reaction. After being diagnosed with Diabetes Type II last year, I realized giving up just isn't an option. I hate that it took this diagnosis for me to make myself and my health a priority, but I'm glad something finally woke me up.

This week, my weight went up. A lot. I gained 5.2 pounds in one week. I didn't make the best choices - dining later in the evening, not drinking enough water, impulsive snacking more - and it shows. But one week does not define me or my success on Weight Watchers. I have to lose 239 more pounds to be the healthy person I want to be, so one week is just that - one week.

I will have many more weeks on my weight loss journey, and I there will be more losses and gains. It is my goal to make sure there are more losses than gains, but I accept there will be both. I accept that I am not perfect and that not being perfect all the time is okay.

At the end of the day, I'm still making better choices and I'm still working hard to be healthier every day. That, in and of itself, is already a win in my book.

Starting Weight Watchers Weight: 422.2

Current Weight: 419.2

bottom of page