top of page
My Picks:
Post List

Aha!


I am proud of the progress I made this past week. I had a couple of "Aha!" moments and I know that is why I lost 4.2 pounds!

First, it was pointed out during a recent meeting that we don't have to use the Activity points just because we earn them. Second, the same goes for the 49 extra "cheat" points - just because we have them, it doesn't mean we have to use them.

I have a problem with giving myself permission to overeat. For me, having these extra points and points I can swap gave me an excuse to eat more. I learned at the meeting that this is not the point of those points. Weight Watchers gives 49 "cheat" points and awards activity points as a way to help navigate this new healthy lifestyle, not to give free range at the dessert bar.

Because Weight Watchers isn't a diet, there isn't anything I can't eat. As long as I track it and stay within my points, I'll lose weight. It's true I can eat more if I work out, but eating more is optional. Just like the "cheat" points. And this was the major "Aha!" moment for me - learning what is OPTIONAL and what is necessary.

As a food addict, I cannot remove food from my life to get a grip on my addiction. I have to eat to survive, and getting control of what food is necessary versus what food is optional is my biggest struggle. Routines help and tracking everything I stick in my mouth makes a huge difference. I have an incredible support system through my local meeting group, and my friends are also significant in helping me move forward.

No matter how much weight you have to lose, it begins with the choices you make. I have to choose what I eat, if I exercise, if I go to meetings and if I stick with it every single day. I have to choose to be healthier, and with Weight Watchers it's very easy to choose what's right for me.

Starting Weight Watchers Weight: 422.2

Current Weight: 415

bottom of page