top of page
My Picks:
Post List

The Long Way Around


When I was diagnosed with Type II Diabetes last year, I was strongly encouraged to undergo weight loss surgery. In fact, the first thing out of the Diabetic Counselor's mouth after introducing herself was that weight loss surgery was not only my best option for successful weight loss, but also really my only option.

I disagreed with her. I was morbidly obese with a co-morbid (Diabetes) condition, but I also knew something important about myself that she didn't - I am a food addict.

I later learned that many health practitioners are making this sort of out-of-the-gate recommendation to newly diagnosed Diabetes patients. I'm sure there is some sort of reasoning behind this that involves studies and whatnot, but I've actually known quite a few people who were NOT successful with weight loss surgery, and I didn't want to undergo any kind of surgery that couldn't guarantee success. Plus, I knew surgery wouldn't fix how my brain works when it comes to food.

For twenty-five years, I've had a very unhealthy relationship with food. I've used it to cope and as a crutch, so learning how to deal with life's ups and downs without my dependency on food is a whole different animal than learning how to eat correctly. Food addiction, like any addiction, is hard work and a lifelong process. Plus, it's not like I can stop eating to deal with it. Food is something the body needs, and temptation is everywhere.

I decided to forego weight loss surgery and find something that worked for me. I used the My Fitness Pal app on my phone to track my food from September until June, and then in June I joined Weight Watchers.

I've learned a lot about myself and about celebrating life beyond the dining room table. I've also lost 44 pounds in the past year. Would I have lost more had I undergone weight loss surgery? Probably. Do I care? No. I'm proud of my successes and the journey I am on.

I also recently felt a certain validation about my choice to not undergo weight loss surgery. The Doctor Oz show did a segment on Gastric Bypass last week, and apparently a number of patients have reported a troubling "side effect" - alcoholism. Apparently, once the stomach is significantly reduced, as it is in Gastric Bypass surgery, alcohol is absorbed into the system much faster. The person becomes intoxicated quicker, which creates one set of problems. The other set of problems that comes into play regarding alcohol is that, for some, it becomes a sort of replacement coping device.

Weight loss surgery, regardless of what kind a person undergoes, is a tool - it is not a cure. Some people make the choice to undergo weight loss surgery without fully understanding their emotional dependency on food. I understand my issues and that is why I didn't choose surgery. After watching the segment on The Doctor Oz Show, I'm even more satisfied with my choice.

Weight loss surgery works for some, and I celebrate their success. For me, I'm happy taking the long way around.

bottom of page