top of page
My Picks:
Post List

The Big Reveal

A BMI of 30 or higher registers as OBESE on the BMI scale. My BMI is double what it should be, landing me with a resounding thud in the range of what health practitioners call "morbidly obese". If you want to know what your BMI is, use this trusty BMI calculator.

I realized today that if health were currency, I would be cash poor. So far, I don't have any of the co-morbidities that associate a BMI as high as mine like Diabetes or Hypertension; but that doesn't mean I'm not on a collision course to develop them. I've gotten away with so much for so long that I let the weight creep up to a number I never imagined I would or could weigh. Every week I've seen these large numbers on the scale that I've never seen before and I am ashamed, embarrassed and humiliated. By a number.

It's just a number, but it feels like a prison sentence - something you'd never talk about in mixed company. Except I am going to talk about it because that is what this blog is about. Hiding the numbers only helps me ignore the problem. I'm a fat girl, and for me to get thin I need to stop hiding.

So here's my big reveal - when I began this journey a couple of months ago, my starting weight was 484 lbs. That's a BMI of 73.6.

What's yours?

bottom of page