top of page
My Picks:
Post List

There's No Place Like Home

At the end of April, my best friend and I moved back to Charleston, SC. We made a road trip of it so we could see the Redwood National Forest (all 4 locations, including the Avenue of the Giants), spend time on the 101 in California, hit Route 66, see the Grand Canyon and even visit family along the way. It was a great experience, but not so great for my waistline.

I do not know if I gained weight, but I didn't eat as well as I should or could have. I did plan ahead and munch on a LOT of sunflower seeds, but all of the hours spent driving didn't make it easy to eat well. The shortest time I spent in the car was approximately 6 hours, but most days were closer to ten or twelve hours and stopping at fast food joints was the quickest way to fill my tank. We discovered Chester's Chicken at one of the chain gas stations alon the way, and their fried chicken fingers was about the healthiest I ate.

My blood sugars are steady and my health is good, but adjusting to the heat in Charleston has been a slow process. The heat makes everything including my hair sweat, but the humidity takes my breath away. I can't even THINK about going outside for exercise, which means I have to get a little creative. I am still working on moving more, but this has always been one of my biggest struggles when trying to lose weight.

Being back in South Carolina is tough in a lot of ways. I am reminded every day that my mother is not here, which of course makes me want to stuff my face until the sadness dissipates. I am working at a new job, relearning the area because the names of the roads have all changed in the last 6 years, and doing my best to find my place here. Getting healthy is still one of my priorities, but I will admit it hasn't been a top priority.

I think this first year will be hard, just like it was when we moved to Washington in 2010. My goal during this transition isn't much, but it is important: hold steady and keep my Diabetes in control. Emotional times trigger emotional eating, so I am working hard to make good choices every time I raise my hand to my mouth.

For all of you emotional eaters out there, what are some ways you have coped with big life events to keep from gaining an extra 20-100 pounds?

bottom of page