top of page
My Picks:
Post List

Back to Basics


For three months, I attended Weight Watchers meetings and followed the Points Plus program. I learned an amazing amount of information, garnered support from an incredible group of people and lost some weight.

As I have said before, Weight Watchers is not a diet. It is a lifestyle change. But, it's also not for everyone. The only downfall to the Weight Watchers program I could find was the cost. I also had trouble finding my groove losing weight, and a lot of that is more about my personality type than the Weight Watchers program. I need boundaries. I need some rigidity in my meal planning. On Weight Watchers, I found I had too much freedom and let myself go off the rails too many times.

So, after much time and consideration, I have decided to put my Weight Watchers journey on hold. The final straw was seeing that I actually lost more weight on my own using My Fitness Pal than I had using Weight Watchers - a fact that bugged me to no end since My Fitness Pal is free. I may go back to Weight Watchers eventually, but more for the group support and maintenance aspects of the program than anything else.

I am proud to report that since making this decision at the beginning of October, I have lost weight and weigh the least I have weighed in several years. I'm excited to continue my weight loss journey, even if it's on different terms than four months ago or even a year ago. As I have said before and I will keep saying: this is a marathon, not a sprint.

Feel free to follow me on My Fitness Pal: taradgoodyear

Weight Watchers Starting Weight: 422.2

Current Weight: 408.4

bottom of page