top of page
My Picks:
Post List

Holy Whole30!

I have taken the plunge and started the Whole30 nutrition challenge, and holy no-canoli! This is one tough program to follow! I'm following it to the letter, but I won't lie - it is very hard.

Just to give you an idea of the Whole30, here's a look at what I had on Day 1:

Breakfast - Egg scramble with olives, onions, tomatoes, spinach, kale & garlic.

Fresh cherries and a banana on the side.

Snack - Sugar snap peas

Lunch - Roasted chicken and more sugar snap peas

Snack - More sugar snap peas

Dinner - Baked salmon with garlic, olive oil and lemon.

Asparagus sauteed in olive oil and garlic

Grapes for dessert

I ate a decent amount of food, but my body is definitely feeling the lack of sugar and bad carbs. I've had the jitters and felt a little lightheaded here and there. I definitely understand why people say you feel like you're under the weather or sick with a "carb" flu.

The one thing I am so grateful for is the people I have around me. I'm surrounded by people who've been through the Whole30 challenge more than once, and they've given me great advice and encouragement.

I'm also grateful to have my best friend doing the Whole30 challenge with me. I think it would be even that much harder doing it on my own. And finally, I am super thankful that there are so many awesome recipes on Pinterest!

Whole30 is definitely worth the work. It's a one-day-at-a-time challenge, and that's exactly how I'm going to get through it.

bottom of page