top of page
My Picks:
Post List

Breaking Up With Bread

When I started the Whole30 Challenge 19 days ago, I really didn't understand how hard it was going to be. I understood the concept of eliminating dairy, sugar, grains and legumes but not the effect those eliminations would have (or the benefits).

I've never thought of myself as a big bread eater. However, 19 days without bread and I have learned just how much of a bread eater I was. I've also learned that bread and I were never really friends even though I really wanted us to be. My relationship with bread is kind of like an unrequited love story. I loved bread unconditionally, but it never ever loved me back. In fact, bread wasn't good to me at all.

I don't know that I necessarily have gluten issues, but without gluten-heavy foods like breads and grains, I feel better than ever. 19 days in and I actually don't miss bread at all, which is nice. It's probably been one of the easier breakups I've had in my life, so I'm thankful for that. I'm also thankful that grains weren't as challenging to give up as bread. It's hard to miss something on my plate that was never really on my plate to begin with.

I've had a lot of separation anxiety over the dairy and sugar elimination, but that was expected. My biggest surprise has been the bread drama and how much better I feel without it in my life. It's amazing what I've learned about myself in just 19 days. I can't wait to see what else I'll learn and lose as the Whole30 challenge comes to an end on September 3rd. It really does make me wonder the Special K question: what will I gain when I lose?

And honestly, I can't wait to find out!

bottom of page