top of page
My Picks:
Post List

Two Steps Forward, Ten Steps Back

I have always been very proud of the fact that I was just fat, not unhealthy. I didn't have blood pressure problems, blood sugar drama, cholesterol craziness or anything else. I was just fat. I was morbidly obese without any co-morbidities. That was all true, until now.

And the truth is, I wasn't actually that healthy - not if I am really honest with myself. I've been sick a lot in the last year. I thought once my tonsils were removed last March that my health would improve. The problem was solved, so why didn't I get any better? Why did I still keep getting sick?

This week, my doctor ran some lab tests because I've had symptoms over the last three or four weeks that concerned me. I've been tired, excessively thirsty, experiencing painful leg cramps for no reason, and several minor cuts that took forever to heal. I pay attention to these things because I am so grossly overweight. I knew that I was living on borrowed time, which is why I committed so hard to the Whole30 Nutrition Challenge. It turns out, I was right.

This week, my life changed. I have Diabetes Type 2. Diabetes runs rampant in my dad's side of the family, and many of them were diagnosed later in life, after years of Southern cooking and failed diets. I'm 34. I'm almost half the age that most of my family members with Diabetes were when they were diagnosed. I'm also a lot fatter than most of them, too. I'm 34 and I have Diabetes. I'm not sure what comes next. I guess I'll let you know.

bottom of page