top of page
My Picks:
Post List

Becoming a Vegetarian Botticelli Babe?

I have discovered quite a bit about myself since choosing to become Vegetarian 32 days ago.

Here's a taste of all the things I've learned:

- I don't miss meat.

- I'm getting plenty of protein.

- I'm still losing weight.

- My food tastes delicious.

- My blood sugar levels are better than ever.

I was born and raised in the South where meat is not only a staple food item, but also the centerpiece for most meals. When my best friend made the decision to go Vegetarian, I freaked out at first. I didn't know if I could do it, especially since I am so emotionally connected to food. I've spent 30+ years using food to celebrate special occasions, comfort sadness and curb boredom - all very bad habits that have led to my scale showing I weighed 450+ pounds last year. Plus, many of my favorite recipes that my mother taught me how to make prior to her death in 2009 contained meat, so choosing Vegetarian felt like I was somehow letting her go.

But the thing is that I didn't have to let that connection to my mother go just because I wasn't using meat in her recipes. I didn't have to give up eating just because I gave up eating meat. And, for the first time in my life, food was more about physical nourishment instead of emotional satisfaction.

People have to choose their own path, and this includes the food we eat. For me and for right now, Vegetarianism works.

bottom of page