top of page
My Picks:
Post List

Change Is In The Air

14 months ago, I weighed the most I have ever weighed. Then, 9 months ago I was diagnosed with Diabetes Type 2. The one thing I've learned since then is that embracing change is the best way for me to stay on track.

For 40 days, I gave up meat. I learned a lot about food and that being Vegetarian isn't as hard as I thought it would be. However, I also learned that I don't make good choices when I don't eat meat. I know that this is something that most people could easily rectify through portion control and a little research, but for me right now I need this process to be a lot easier than I made it. Losing weight is hard enough, and all I did during that 40 days of Vegetarianism was over-complicate every meal.

I didn't gain weight during my 40 days of Vegetarianism, but I also didn't lose as much as I would've liked. I know this rests on my shoulders and it is my choices that made my journey into Vegetarianism unsuccessful, but I have to find what works for me that's as easy as possible. Losing weight, especially as much weight as I want to lose (300+ lbs.) is hard enough. There's no reason to make it any harder on myself, right?

The good news is that I have decided that whatever I eat will be organic, grass-fed and lean. I am still learning how to cook fish, which has been fun, and I still eat lots of non-starchy vegetables and legumes. I've already lost 3 pounds in the 1st week since I switched back to eating meat, and I have a lot more energy than I had during those 40 days of Vegetarianism.

Vegetarianism is a great option for many people and it can be a great way to get healthy and lose weight. It just wasn't for me, and that's only because I didn't make good choices. I have to learn to crawl before I can walk with my weight loss journey, and for me, not eating meat was like trying to run before I ever rolled over. Maybe once I've beaten back the bulge and brought my inner Botticelli babe to light, I'll try the Vegetarian path again. Maybe not. Either way, this experience was one chalk full of knowledge, and for me that definitely counts for something!

bottom of page