top of page
My Picks:
Post List

Little Victories


Due to unforeseen circumstances, I wasn't able to change into my usual weigh-in outfit before my meeting last night. Instead, I walked in wearing jeans and a thick-fabric shirt, and I worried the number on the scale wouldn't reflect how hard I'd worked this last week. It wasn't just my jeans weighing me down, but my worry too.

Then, something strange happened. I decided to let it go. I trusted in what I'd done the previous week and accepted that the number on the scale is just a number.

As I've said before: I'm a food addict. I use food to cope with stress, boredom, my emotions and the highs and lows of life. Nourishment of my body has never been a priority. My entire focus has been about seeking comfort and happiness - a nasty habit that started when I was a child. I was teased for being chubby and I felt Amazonian after a growth spurt in middle school made me the tallest girl in my class. Kids that age are cruel, especially the girls. Plus, having the last name I have didn't help - I cannot tell you how many times I've been called the "Goodyear Blimp" in my life. I think these things all pushed me to chase an ideal for myself that isn't healthy or good for me, which is why I created this blog.

Chasing Botticelli is my journey to focus on becoming the best version of myself physically and emotionally. It's about chasing down a dream of acceptance for my body type and seeing the beauty in myself I have rarely ever seen. Botticelli painted voluptuous women - lumps and all - who are still considered by many as the epitome of beauty. I want to see myself as I see these women - beautiful, confident, and brave. I want to be a Botticelli babe, and I know with Weight Watchers I will succeed.

In the meantime, I will celebrate my little victories and my little defeats because they both play a role in my journey to a healthier life. This week, I had a little victory and it felt HUGE. I lost 2 more pounds - even with my jeans on! So, here's to the little victories in life!

Starting Weight Watchers Weight: 422.2

Current Weight: 413

bottom of page